Photo of We Aren’t Cool… But Here’s a List of What Is

We Aren’t Cool… But Here’s a List of What Is

One of the occupational hazards of being a generational expert is that people expect you to know what “the cool kids are doing these days.” Sorry to disappoint the readers out there but while the staff at BridgeWorks is many things, “cool” is not necessarily one of them. (Unless cool is getting overly excited about the latest Pew Research Study.)

However, that doesn’t stop our clients, friends and even our families from asking us what the different generations are gravitating towards. So while we definitely cannot claim to be “cool” experts, we can give you a glimpse into what the general population considers cool in the world of social media:

Top Ten Facebook Fan Pages

We were only slightly surprised to realize how few of these pages we follow personally. Also, call us “old Millennials,” but when did it become cool to follow a social media site’s page?

  1. Facebook for Every Phone
  2. Facebook
  3. Shakira
  4. Cristiano Ronaldo  
  5. Eminem
  6. Rihanna
  7. Coca-Cola
  8. Vin Diesel
  9. YouTube
  10. Michael Jackson

Top Ten Twitter Accounts

There aren’t a lot of huge shockers here. Look at #3 – there’s a generation of voting age that only knows a President they’ve been able to tweet at. That’s kind of a big deal.

  1. Katy Perry @katyperry
  2. Justin Bieber @justinbieber
  3. Barack Obama @barackobama
  4. Taylor Swift @taylorswift13
  5. YouTube @youtube
  6. Lady Gaga @ladygaga
  7. Britney Spears @britneyspears
  8. Rihanna @rihanna
  9. Justin Timberlake @jtimberlake
  10. Instagram @instagram

Top Ten Instagram Accounts

If you don’t already know, the Kardashians win Instagram. Also, look at these celebrities and think about the age demographic following them. (It’s mostly Gen Edgers.)

  1. Instagram
  2. Justinbieber
  3. Kimkardashian
  4. Beyonce
  5. Arianagrande
  6. Selenagomez
  7. Kendalljenner
  8. Khloekardashian
  9. Kyliejenner
  10. Mileycyrus

While we do not consider ourselves to be the image of “cool,” we do pride ourselves on the people/accounts that we follow:

Facebook

A delightful mix of gender, news, pop culture and nerd. 

Twitter

So much funny. So much fascinating. Just, so much. 

Instagram

We know what’s what on Insta.

Now it’s your turn to tell us… what else or who else should we be following?

Also, don’t forget to follow BridgeWorks! We say cool, witty and smart things. We promise. @TheGenPeople